June 19, 2024


…. for news amd more news

Aisha Buhari Invites Presidential Aspirants To Iftar Dinner, Directs Them Not To Come Phones

2 min read
Aisha Buhari

Mojisola Lawal

Major Aspirants aiming for the presidency of Nigeria in the different political parties have been invited for a Ramadan dinner with the First Lady, Aisha Buhari, on Saturday, April 23.

According to a copy of the invitation card currently trending on social media, the presidential aspirants are expected to present their invitation cards at the gate of the venue otherwise they may be turned back.

They were also instructed to leave their phones behind when coming for the dinner.

“Please, bring this card with you. Phones are not allowed,” stated the invite.

But according to The PUNCH, this directive will not apply to Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Governors and Ministers who are expected to be at the meeting.

The spokesperson of the First Lady, Aliyu Abdullahi, who confirmed the meeting said, “There is nothing here. This is a standard operational protocol in the Villa when you are having a meeting with either of the three occupants of the Presidency.

“If they are coming for an event, this is supposed to be DSS enforced when the president is having an event or the Vice President is having an event or the first lady is having an event. Because outsiders will come. That’s the security and standard protocol.

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) currently has about 8 presidential aspirants.

The APC has the following aspirants so far: Former governor of Lagos State and National Leader of the party, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, Governor of Ebonyi State, Dave Umahi, Ex-Abia State, Senator Orji Kalu; Ex-governor of Imo State, Senator Rochas Okorocha; Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State; and Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi and Vice President, Prof Yemi Osinbajo.

Those who have declared for the exalted position on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) include the governor of Sokoto State, Aminu Tambuwal; Nwachukwu Anakwenze; Dele Momodu; Governor of Rivers State, Nyesom Wike; Investment banker and economist, Mohammed Hayatu-Deen, Peter Obi, Udom Emmanuel and Sam Ohuabunwa.

Former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar; Former Senate President, Bukola Saraki; Former Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Anyim Pius Anyim and the Governors of Bauchi and Akwa Ibom States, Bala Mohammed and Udom Emmanuel, have also declared to contest under the PDP.

Views: 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.